Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.

Winston Churchill

Home Got to know Pritzker Prize
Pritzker Prize PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 0
Sunday, 12 September 2010 16:28


Pritzker Prize is an international award given annually to recognize the contributions of a living architect. It has often been called the Nobel Prize of architecture and is given every year since 1979. The award was established by the Pritzker family of Chicago and so far has over 30 laureats.

The award consists of $100,000 (US) and a bronze medallion.


The prize takes its name from the Pritzker family, whose international business interests are headquartered in Chicago. The Pritzkers have been well known for their support of educational, scientific, medical, and cultural activities.

Jay A. Pritzker, (1922-1999), founded the prize with his wife, Cindy.

Thomas J. Pritzker is the current president of The Hyatt Foundation. He is the eldest son of Jay A. Pritzker.


Each year every laureate receives a bronze medallion. It is based on designs of Louis Sullivan(famed Chicago architect generally acknowledged as the father of the skyscraper). On one side is the name of the prize. On the reverse, three words are inscribed, firmness, commodity and delight.

Nomination Process

The Executive Director actively solicits nominations from past laureates, architects, academics, critics, politicians, professionals involved in cultural endeavors, etc. and with expertise and interest in the field of architecture.

Pritzker Laureates

1979 - Philip Johnson

1980 - Luis Barrag?n

1981 - Sir James Stirling

1982 - Kevin Roche

1983 - Ieoh Ming Pei

1984 - Richard Meier

1985 - Hans Hollein

1986 - Gottfried B?hm

1987 - Kenzo Tange

1988 - Gordon Bunshaft

1988 - Oscar Niemeyer

1989 - Frank Gehry

1990 - Aldo Rossi

1991 - Robert Venturi

1992 - ?lvaro Siza Vieira

1993 - Fumihiko Maki

1994 - Christian de Portzamparc

1995 - Tadao Ando

1996 - Rafael Moneo

1997 - Sverre Fehn

1998 - Renzo Piano

1999 - Norman Foster

2000 - Rem Koolhaas

2001 - Herzog & de Meuron

2002 - Glenn Murcutt

2003 - J?rn Utzon

2004 - Zaha Hadid

2005 - Thom Mayne

2006 - Paulo Mendes da Rocha

2007 - Richard Rogers

2008 - Jean Nouvel

2009 - Peter Zumthor

2010 - Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa (SANAA)

Information is used from www.reference.com

Comments (0)